NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Vijay Hazare Trophy: Bengal thrash Assam, enter quarters

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Bengal thrash Assam, enter quarters

Last updated on: February 22, 2013 19:00 IST

Defending champions Bengal recovered from their shocking loss against Tripura to thrash Assam by seven wickets and enter the quarter-final of the Vijay Hazare Trophy in Kolkata on Friday.

Needing a win to qualify for the knock-outs, Bengal skittled group toppers Assam for only 95 runs in 33.4 overs and then knocked off the runs in only 17.5 overs.

While seamer Veer Pratap Singh did the trick with the ball grabbing four for 31, their No 1 batsman Manoj Tiwary smashed an unbeaten 61 off 62 balls to ensure Bengal a bonus point.

Assam topped the group with 14 points and Bengal came second with 12 but will be playing in the quarter-finals by virtue of winning the title in the last edition.

After being shocked by Tripura for the first time at any level, a determined Bengal team came back and put up a far more professional performance on a track where toss became an important factor.

All the Bengal bowlers chipped in with impressive performances. Veer Pratap was well complemented by skipper Laxmi Ratan Shukla who took two for 13.

In reply, Bengal rode on a 72-run partnership for the fourth wicket between Tiwary and Anustup Majumdar who gave him support, scoring 12.

Tiwary again showed the gulf between him and other Bengal batsmen as he single-handedly took the Assam bowlers to the cleaners, hitting eight fours and two sixes even after the team was in shambles at 26 for three.

The experiement of opening the batting with rookie Vivek Singh flopped once again as he was cleaned up by Abu Nechim Ahmed without scoring. This is the second duck for Vivek and certainly raises questions about the selection policy.

Brief Scores: Assam 95 all out in 33.3 overs (Shib Shankar Roy 20, VP Singh 4/31, LR Shukla 2/13).

Bengal 98/3 in 17.5 overs (Manoj Tiwary 61 no).

Bengal won by 7 wkts. Points: Bengal 5; Assam -1.

Bengal and Assam qualify for knock-outs.

Pradhan 7-wkt haul helps Odisha crush Jharkhand

Pacer Suryakant Pradhan ran through the Jharkhand battting order with a brilliant seven-wicket haul as Odisha crushed Jharkhand by 235 runs in their East Zone leg of the Vijay Hazare One-day Championship match in Kolkata.

Pradhan's impressive show came after his batting colleagues Paresh Patel (126) and Arabind Singh (132) smashed a century each as Odisha posted a massive 353 for four wickets after being sent into bat Jadavpur University Complex.

Chasing 354 for a win, Jharkhand slumped to 43 for eight in the 13th over with seven of their batsmen having been dismissed by Pradhan.

Earlier, Paresh Patel and Arabind Singh shared 114 runs for the second wicket to lay the foundation of a huge score.

Samantray contributed 37 not out while Govind Podder scored 26.

Odisha grabbed five points from the win, including a bonus point, while Jharkhand got minus one.

© Copyright 2017 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.