NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » U-19 WC: Bangladesh win Plate Championship; India finish fifth

U-19 WC: Bangladesh win Plate Championship; India finish fifth

February 27, 2014 20:37 IST

The Bangladesh Under-19 team after finishing fourthBangladesh defeated New Zealand by 77 runs to win its fourth Plate Championship title at the ICC Under-19 World Cup at the Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Thursday.

Opener Shadman Islam scored 97 and Litton Das contributed 79 as the two batsmen put on 124 runs for the second wicket to propel Bangladesh to 223 in 47 overs.

Off-spinner Mosaddek Hossain then returned figures of 10-4-23-4 as New Zealand finished at 146 for nine after Brett Randell followed up his two for 22 with 51 not out.

Bangladesh had previously won the Plate Championship in South Africa (1998), Bangladesh (2004) and New Zealand (2010).

Shadman, who hit 13 fours in a 113-ball innings, finished with an impressive series aggregate of 406 runs. He leads Imam-ul-Haq of Pakistan by 36 runs, with South Africa captain Aiden Markram occupying third place with 304 runs.

Both Imam and Markram will feature in Saturday’s final.

In the fifth/sixth position play-off match, India overcame Tagenarine Chanderpaul’s century to beat the West Indies by 46 runs at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

Chanderpaul scored 112 from 136 balls, with eight fours and a six, as the West Indies, chasing India’s mammoth 340 for eight, finished at 294 for eight.

Chanderpaul finished the tournament with 293 runs, with one century and two half-centuries.

Earlier, Ankush Bains (74), Sanju Samson (67) and Shreyas Iyer (66) batted well to help India post the highest team total of the tournament.

For the West Indies, Gudakesh Motie picked three for 52 and Preston McSween bagged two for 74.

Afghanistan, playing in its third World Cup, finished at an impressive seventh position after defeating Sri Lanka by five wickets at ICC Academy 2.

This was Afghanistan’s second big victory in the tournament after it upset Australia by 36 runs. It had also come very close to beating the West Indies before it went down by nine runs.

Usman Ghani took three for 21 and Sayed Shirzad bagged three for 33 as Sri Lanka was bowled out for 114 in 34.3 overs.

In turn, Afghanistan raced to victory in under 22 overs for the loss of five wickets with Ihsanullah scoring 37 not out.

Zimbabwe finished 11th in the 16-team tournament when it defeated host the United Arab Emirates by 84 runs.

On Friday, England and Australia will clash in the third/fourth position play-off at the ICC Academy 1.

Brief scores:

Plate Championship final

Bangladesh beat New Zealand by 77 runs at Zayed Cricket Stadium

Bangladesh: 223 all out, 47 overs (Shadman Islam 97, Litton Das 79; Brett Randell 2-22, Dane Watson 2-49)

New Zealand: 146-9, 50 overs (Brett Randell 51 not out, Shawn Hicks 23; Mosaddek Hossain 4-23, Nihaduzzaman 2-31)

5th-6th position play-off: India beat West Indies by 46 runs at Sharjah Cricket Stadium

India: 340-8, 50 overs (Ankush Bains 74, Sanju Samson 67, Shreyas Iyer 66, Deepak Hooda 42, Vijay Zol 30; Gudakesh Motie 3-52, Preston McSween 2-74)

West Indies: 294-8, 50 overs (Tagenarine Chanderpaul 112, Nicolas Pooran 54, Tristan Coleman 45; Chama Milind 2-50)

7th-8th position play-off: Afghanistan beat Sri Lanka by five wickets at ICC Academy 2

Sri Lanka: 114 all out, 34.3 overs (Priyamal Perera 30, Usman Ghani 3-21, Sayed Shirzad 3-33)

Afghanistan: 118-5, 21.2 overs (Ihsanullah 37 not out, Hashmatullah Shaidi 34, Usman Ghani 27; Anuk Fernando 4-50)

11th/12th position play-off: Zimbabwe beat UAE by 84 runs at Abu Dhabi Oval 1

Zimbabwe: 205 all out, 50 overs (Luke Longwe 80, Shoun Handirisi 38, Kieran Geyle 27; Moaaz Qazi 3-35, Waruna Perera  2-28, Sajid Khan 2-33)

UAE: 121-9, 50 overs (Rohit Singh 30, Kieran Geyle 3-20, Herbert Chikomba 3-21)

Forthcoming matches:

Friday: England v Australia (3rd-4th position play-off), ICC Academy 1

Saturday: Pakistan v South Africa (Super League final), Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

Image: The Bangladesh Under-19 team after finishing fourth

Photograph: 2014 © IDI/Getty Images