NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Australia win toss, elect to bat in Adelaide

Australia win toss, elect to bat in Adelaide

February 17, 2008 09:19 IST

Australia captain Ricky Ponting won the toss and elected to bat first in Sunday's tri-series one-day international against India at Adelaide Oval.

Australia rested fast bowler Brett Lee with Stuart Clark called in to bolster the seam attack. Batsman Michael Clarke passed a fitness test.

India brought in batsman Munaf Patel in place of the injured Virender Sehwag.


Australia: Ricky Ponting (captain), Adam Gilchrist, Matthew Hayden, Michael Clarke, Mike Hussey, James Hopes, Andrew Symonds, Brad Hogg, Mitchell Johnson, Nathan Bracken, Stuart Clark.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Munaf Patel, Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Robin Uthappa, Rohit Sharma, Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Shantha Sreesanth, Ishant Sharma. (Editing by Ed Osmond)

© Copyright 2016 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.