NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Sri Lanka Premier League postponed to next year

Sri Lanka Premier League postponed to next year

July 08, 2011 10:41 IST

The inaugural edition of the Sri Lankan Premier League has been postponed to August 2012. The League was in the news and courted controversy when Indian players were denied permission by the BCCI to participate in the competition.

Sri Lanka will now just have a domestic Twenty20 league featuring five teams that will not involve any foreign players.

The decision to postpone the league, which was scheduled to start on July 19, was taken on Thursday at a meeting between the Cricket Sri Lanka's new committee and the league's organisers, Somerset Entertainment Ventures.

A four-week window in August next year has been identified as the best time to host the event, reported ESPNcricinfo.

The BCCI had refused No Objection Certificates to 12 Indian players -- Praveen Kumar, Munaf Patel, Irfan Pathan, Dinesh Karthik, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Manoj Tiwary, Saurabh Tiwary, Umesh Yadav, Vinay Kumar, Manish Pandey and Paul Valthaty -- after it was rumoured that the tournament was organised by a private party, which is close to suspended IPL chief Lalit Modi, and based in Singapore.

Another major blow the league suffered was that the Sri Lanka Cricket committee that created the tournament was dissolved last week by Sri Lanka's sports ministry.
© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.