NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » South Africa crush hapless West Indies by 163 runs

South Africa crush hapless West Indies by 163 runs

June 14, 2010 12:39 IST

South Africa completed a comprehensive 163-run win over West Indies in the dying stages of the fourth day of the opening Test at the Queen's Park Oval on Sunday to take a 1-0 lead in the three-match series.

The Proteas faced stiffer resistance from the West Indies in their second innings but were still able to earn a day off as the home side were dismissed for 293 from 80.3 overs with 2.3 overs remaining in the day's play.

Chasing a highly improbably 457 to win, West Indies showed significantly more fight than they had done in their first innings when they capitulated for 102.

Captain Chris Gayle led from the front with a power-packed 73 from 106 balls with nine fours and one six while his deputy Dwayne Bravo entertained with 49 from 74 balls with four boundaries and a pair of sixes.

Sulieman Benn recorded his highest Test score 42 from 55 balls which included eight fours as he put on 66 for the eight wicket with his spin partner Shane Shillingford (27).

South Africa fast bowler Dale Steyn, the man-of-the-match after a match haul of eight for 94, returned to wrap up the innings as he forced last man Nelon Pascal to play on.

The series moves to St Kitts for the second Test before concluding in Barbados.

South Africa first innings 352
West Indies first innings 102
South Africa second innings
G.Smith b Benn 90
A.Petersen lbw b Benn 22
H.Amla c Deonarine b Shillingford 5
J.Kallis lbw b Benn 40
AB de Villiers not out 19
A Prince not out 16
Extras (b-6, lb-3, nb-5) 14
Total (for 4 wickets dec.) 206
Fall of wickets: 1-56, 2-79, 3-157, 4-178
Bowling: R Rampaul 6-2-21-0, N Pascal 6-1-27-0, S Benn 25-3-74-3, S Shillingford 21-2-66-1,
D Bravo 4-1-9-0.

West Indies second innings
C. Gayle lbw b Morkel 73
T. Dowlin lbw b Morkel 1
B. Nash c Boucher b Steyn 13
S. Chanderpaul c de Villiers b Kallis 15
N. Deonarine lbw b Steyn 23
D. Bravo c Prince b Harris 49
D. Ramdin c de Villiers b Tsotsobe 9
S. Shillingford c Petersen b Harris 27
S. Benn lbw b Petersen 42
R. Rampaul not out 18
N. Pascal b Steyn 10
Extras (b 11, lb 2) 13
Total (all out; 80.3 overs) 293
Fall of wickets: 1-2, 2-39, 3-94, 4-114, 5-152, 6-192, 7-194, 8-260, 9-264.
Bowling: D. Steyn 15.3-1-65-3, M Morkel 12-3-49-2, L. Tsotsobe 13-5-20-1, P. Harris 26.3-3-91-2, J. Kallis 11-3-49-1, G. Smith 0.3-0-4-0, A. Petersen 2-1-2-1

© Copyright 2018 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.