NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » SL vs West Indies first ODI washed out

SL vs West Indies first ODI washed out

January 31, 2011 17:26 IST

The first One-day International between Sri Lanka and West Indies was abandoned because of rain at Sinhalese Sports Club in Colombo on Monday.

West Indies captain Darren Sammy won the toss and elected to bat first and his team made 245-5 in 50 overs before rain started during the innings break. The steady rain eventually forced match officials to abandon the game.

The West Indies top order failed to get the start they wanted, losing Chris Gayle with the total on six and Darren Bravo at 42.

Gayle (4) edged seamer Nuwan Kulasekara to wicketkeeper Kumar Sangakkara and Bravo was run out after making eight.

But Barath (113) and Ramnaresh Sarwan, who returned to form with 75, shared 165-runs for the third wicket.

Barath hit eight boundaries and two sixes in 129 balls, while Sarwan's 100-ball innings included a six and four boundaries.

Lasith Malinga ruined the West Indies' hopes of a big score in their batting power play, taking two wickets in three balls as the in-form partners departed in identical fashion caught by Chamara Kapugedera at long-on.

Malinga finished with 3-51 to restrict the visitors to a score, which could have been chased down if not for rain.

West Indies returned to Sri Lanka to complete a limited-overs series after a scheduled five-match series was washed out in December. Much of the drawn three-match Test series was also lost to rain.

West Indies
C Gayle c Sangakkara b Kulasekara 4
A Barath c Kapugedera b Malinga 113
Darren Bravo run out 8
R Sarwan c Kapugedera b Malinga 75
K Pollard b Malinga 4
S Chanderpaul not out 13
D Sammy not out 21
Extras: (lb-2, w-5) 7
Total: (five wickets, 50 overs) 245
Fall of wickets: 1-6, 2-42, 3-207, 4-207, 5-215.
Bowling: Malinga 10-0-51-3 (2-w), Kulasekara 10-2-35-1, Mathews 7-0-35-0, Muralitharan 10-0-42-0, Mendis 9-0-50-0 (3-w), Kapugedera 2-0-11-0, Dilshan 2-0-19-0.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.