NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Shamshuddin only Indian on International panel of Umpires

Shamshuddin only Indian on International panel of Umpires

January 03, 2013 14:51 IST

C Shamshuddin was the lone Indian among the five new third umpires appointed to the ICC's international panel announced on Thursday.

The 42-year-old Shamshuddin made his international debut in the India-England Twenty20 match in December last year.

After that he stood in the Twenty20 International between India and Pakistan in the same month.

The Emirates International Panel of Umpires comprises umpires who are nominated by their home boards and accredited by the ICC. The umpires on this panel can be assigned to all three international formats of the game.

The five new third umpires appointed to the panel are Anisur Rahman (Bangladesh), Michael Gough and Tim Robinson (both England), C Shamshuddin (India) and Derek Walker (New Zealand), the ICC said in a statement.

Apart from this, Indian-orgin American Sameer Bandekar and Wynand Louw of Namibia were included in the ICC Associates and Affiliates Panel of Umpires for 2013 following the annual review and selection process.

The panel was named by the Associate and Affiliate Selection Committee which is made up of Vince Van Der Bijl, ICC Umpire and Referees Manager, David Jukes, ICC Regional Match Referee, Brian Aldridge, a former Test umpire, Adrian Griffith, ICC Umpire and Referees Administration Manager and Edward Fitzgibbon, ICC Development Events Manager.

The umpires on the ICC Associate and Affiliate International Umpires panel can be assigned to ODIs and Twenty20 International matches involving Associates and Affiliates Members as well as officiates in under-19 and women's cricket.

Bandekar, 48, has taken over from compatriot Roger Dill, who umpired in 25 ODIs. Bandekar, who migrated from India to the USA late last decade, has officiated in an ODI when he umpired the India-Zimbabwe match in Guwahati in March 2002.

© Copyright 2017 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.