NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Saheba, Tarapore to officiate in 2011 World Cup

Saheba, Tarapore to officiate in 2011 World Cup

December 12, 2010 18:52 IST

Indian umpires Amiesh Saheba and Shavir Tarapore were on Sunday named among the umpires who would officiate in the upcoming cricket World Cup scheduled to begin in Dhaka on February 19.

Apart from Saheba and Tarapore, umpires Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka), Bruce Oxenford (Australia), Richard Kettleborough and Nigel Llong (both from England) have been named to stand alongside umpires of ICC's Elite Panel during the quadrennial event.

While Saheba has officiated in 44 One Day Internationals, three Twenty20s and two Test matches, Tarapore has stood in 16 ODIs and three T20s.

These six have been identified as emerging and talented match officials, who have already officiated at international level with experience of conditions in the Asian sub-continent and are now ready to umpire at cricket's flagship event, ICC said in a statement.

The reserve umpire for the tournament has been named as Enamul Hoque-Moni, also from the international panel. He will officiate during the warm-up phase of the tournament and be available, if required, during the event proper.

The match referees for the event will be: Chris Broad, Jeff Crowe, Ranjan Madugalle, Roshan Mahanama and Andy Pycroft (all from the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees).

The umpire selection panel consists of David Richardson (ICC General Manager – Cricket), Ranjan Madugalle (ICC Chief Match Referee), David Lloyd (former player, coach, umpire and now television commentator) and Srinivas Venkataraghavan (former elite panel umpire).

The full list of umpires is: Billy Bowden, Aleem Dar, Steve Davis, Billy Doctrove, Marais Erasmus, Ian Gould, Daryl Harper, Tony Hill, Asad Rauf, Asoka de Silva, Simon Taufel, Rod Tucker (all from the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires), Kumar Dharmasena, Richard Kettleborough, Nigel Llong, Bruce Oxenford, Amish Saheba and Shahvir Tarapore (all from the Emirates International Panel of ICC Umpires).

© Copyright 2017 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.