NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Andhra fend off TN threat

Andhra fend off TN threat

December 04, 2006 21:26 IST

A superb unbeaten 105 by captain Y Venugopal Rao helped Andhra Pradesh hold former champions Tamil Nadu to a draw in their four-day Elite Group-A Ranji Trophy tie in Chennai on Monday.

Tamil Nadu, with a 319-run first innings lead, forced Andhra to follow on after they were bundled out for 155 in the first innings but managed 327 for 8 in 120.5 overs in their secon innings to draw the match, which was called off while the 13th of the 20 mandatory overs was in progress.

The hosts collected two points on first innings lead, while Andhra have four points in their two group matches so far.

Resuming at 79 for one, overnight batsmen L N Prasad Reddy (34, 1x4) and ASK Varma (21, 3x4) were back in the pavilion leaving their side tottering at 109 for 3.

However, Venugopal Rao stuck to his ground though two more wickets fell -- Y Ganeswar Rao (7) and A G Pradeep (4) -- and then built his side's rescue act in the company of RVCH Prasad.

Being at the crease for over 32 overs, these two put on 102 runs for the sixth wicket which proved crucial in drawing the match.

Venugopal, a test discard, showed grit in a tight situation and rotated the strike so well that he protected the tailenders.

After two more wickets fell -- K S Sahabuddin (9) and Mohd Faiq (10) -- before the mandatory overs could be started, Venugopal guided his partner D Kalyankrishna in seeing through the day.


Tamil Nadu 1st Innings: 474 for 9 decl

Andhra 1st Innings: 155

Andhra 2nd Innings:
MSK Prasad C S.Badrinath B S.Viduth 29
L.N.Prasad Reddy C Sub.R.Prasanna B R.Naresh 34
ASK Varma B R.Naresh 21
Y.Venugopal Rao Not out 105
Y.Ganeswar Rao C Varun Kumar B R.Jesuraj 7
A.G.Pradeep C R.Prasanna B S.Vidyuth 4
RVCH Prasad C Hemang Badani B R.Jesuraj 55
K.S.Sahabuddin C R.Prasanna B R.Naresh 9
Mohd Faiq C S.Badrinath B Aasish Kapoor 10
D.Kalyankrishna not out 1
Extras: (B-12, LB-7, NB-27, W-6) 52

Total (for 8 wkts in 120.5 overs) 327

Fall of Wkts: 1-69, 2-105, 3-109, 4-145, 5-152, 6-254, 7-272, 8-302

Bowling: V Yo Mahesh 27-6-76-0, R Naresh 17-0-58-3, Aasish Kapoor 26.5-9-54-1, R Jesuraj 24-6-50-2, S Vidyuth 18-3-52-2, S Badrinath 6-1-17-0, M Vijay 1-0-1-0, R Satish 1-1-0-0.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.