NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Salvi, Hazare send Karnataka crashing

Salvi, Hazare send Karnataka crashing

December 01, 2005 19:47 IST

Karnataka crumbled to 186 all out against the pace attack of Mumbai's Avishkar Salvi (4/26) and Swapnil Hazare (4/47) in the Ranji Trophy Elite 'A' match at the M Chinnaswamy stadium in Bangalore on Thursday.

The saving grace for the hosts was half-centuries from wicketkeeper Thilak Naidu (51) and B Akhil (55), who put on 70 runs for the sixth wicket after the team, opting to bat first, slumped to 58 for five.

Salvi ended with impressive figures of 19.4-8-26-4, while Hazare's read 20-8-47-4.

Mumbai stumper Vinayak Sawanth also played a key role in Karnataka's downfall in the first innings, taking four catches as the visitors asserted their supremacy and took the first day's honours.

Salvi removed openers Robin Uthappa (20) and Rowland Barrington (0). Hazare was also equally aggressive, dismissing skipper Sujith Somasundar (2), Sudhindra Shinde (18) and Stuart Binny (0), leaving the local team in dire straits.

Mumbai were one without loss in the one over they faced, with S Kukreja batting on one and in-form Wasim Jaffer, who hit a double century in the first match against Delhi, yet to open his account.


Karnataka (1st innings):
Robin Uthappa b Avishkar Salvi 20
Rowland Barrington lbw Salvi 4
S Somasundar c Nilesh Kulkarni b Swapnil Hazare 2
Sudhindra Shinde c Vinayak Sawanth b Swapnil Hazare 18
S Binny c Vinayak Sawanth b Swapnil Hazare 0
T Naidu c Vinit Indulkar b Ramesh Powar 51
B Akhil b Avishkar Salvi 55
S Joshi c & b Nilesh Kulkarni 5
Vinay Kumar not out 12
U B Patel c Vinayak Sawanth b Swapnil Hazare 7
Raghavendra c Vinayak Sawanth b Avishkar Salvi 0
Extras: (lb8, b1, nb3) 12
Total: (all out in 86.4 overs) 186

Fall of wickets: 1-26, 2-27, 3-37, 4-37, 5-58, 6-128, 7-146, 8-175, 9-185.

Bowling: Salvi 19.4-8-26-4, Hazare 20-8-47-4, Kulkarni 21-4-36-1, Powar 20-3-59-1, Amol Mazumdar 3-1-5-0, Nishit Shetty 3-1-4-0.

Mumbai (1st innings):
S Kukreja batting 1
Wasim Jaffer batting 0
Total: (for no loss, in one over) 1
Bowling: Vinay Kumar 1-0-1-0.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.