NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Munaf, Bahutule rout Rajasthan

Munaf, Bahutule rout Rajasthan

November 15, 2007 20:09 IST

Superb bowling by Munaf Patel (4 for 54) and Sairaj Bahutule (3 for 2) helped Maharashtra bundle out hosts Rajasthan for a paltry 105 on the opening day of the Ranji Trophy Super League Group A match at the KL Saini stadium in Jaipur on Wednesday.

In reply, Maharashtra were 155 for 3 at stumps.

Venugopal Rao and Takawale were unbeaten on 26 runs each.

Patel, discarded from the national team, exploited the green top wicket to dismiss both the openers.

Former international Gagan Khoda, who was caught by Mohan off Patel, was the top scorer with 43. Vinit Saxena (10) and Afroz Khan (21 not out) were the other batsmen to make notable contributions.

Veteran Bahutule cut off Rajasthan's tail, capturing last three wickets in only 2.4 overs conceding two runs.

Maharashtra made a solid start as openers V V More and H H Khadiwale put on 69 runs before More was dismissed by Afroz for 32 (73m, 37b,6x4).

Afroz took another wicket, dismissing  Jadhav, who was caught behind for 8.

Venugopal Rao and Takawale added 19 runs for the fourth wicket by the close of play. Afroz took two for 34 and Pankaj Singh picked one for 49.


Rajasthan (1st Innings):
R Sharma b Patel 2
G Khoda c Mohan b Patel 43
R Kanwat b Sayyed 6
V Saxena c More b Khadiwale 10
R Bist c Venugopal b Patel 5
R Bishnoi c Mohan b Patel 4
R Jhalani lbw b Khadiwale 5
A Khan not out 21
P Singh b Bahutule 0
M Aslam b Bahutule 3
S Mathur c Takawale b Bahutule 1
Extras: (lb 4, nb 1) 5
Total: (all out 35.4 over) 105.

Fall of wickets: 1-16, 2-31, 3-45, 4-57, 5-67, 6-72, 7-84, 8-85, 9-89, 10-105.

Bowling: M Patel 16-4-54-4, W S Sayyed 7-2-26-1, HH Khadiwale 10-3-19-2, Bahutule 2.4-2-2-3.

Maharashtra (1st Innings):
V More c Saxena b Afroz 32
H Khadiwale c Bist b Pankaj 57
K Jahdav c Jhalani b Afroz 8
V Rao batting 26
Y Takawale batting 26.
Extras: (bye 3, nb 3) 6.
Total: (for 3 wicekts in 47 overs) 155.

Fall of wickets: - 1-69, 2-84, 3-113.

Bowling: P Singh 15-4-49-1, S Mathur 11-0-50-0, M Aslam 10-3-13-0, A Khan 10-3-34-2, R Kanwat 1-0-6-0.