NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Maharashtra 55-1 on day 1

Maharashtra 55-1 on day 1

January 03, 2006 20:02 IST

Maharashtra were 55 for 1 against defending champions Railways after 190 minutes of play was lost due to heavy fog, bad light and poor visibility on the opening day of the Ranji trophy Elite Group 'A' match in New Delhi on Tuesday.

Only 32 overs could be bowled in 147 minutes of play as the match started only after tea. Maharashtra skipper Hrishikesh Kanitkar won the toss and elected to bat.

The visitors suffered an early jolt, losing Abhjit Kale in the 5.3 overs when the score was nine and the opener's own contribution was just one run.

J P Yadav gave Railways the early breakthrough when he had Kale caught behind by Sudhir Wankhede.

However, opener Dheeraj Jadhav and Kanitkar foiled Railways bid for another breakthrough as both batted with confidence.

They put up 46 runs for the second wicket in 27.3 overs without getting separated. At stumps, Dheeraj was batting on 23, inclusive of three boundaries, and Kanitkar was on 21 (3x4, 122 minutes).

Railways suffered a minor setback before the start of the game as their star spinner Murali Kartik took ill. Murali was replaced by the other spinner, Madan Yadav. The hosts made one more change in their eleven, including medium pacer Harvinder Singh in place of G Shankar Rao.

The match is crucial for both the teams. They have four points each after five rounds and will need a win in this tie to keep their hopes of remaining in the elite group alive.


Maharashtra (1st innings):
D S Jadhav not out 23
A V Kale c Wankhede b Jai P Yadav 1
H Kanitkar not out 21
Extras: (lb 1, nb 9) 10
Total: (1 wicket, 32 overs) 55

To bat: S Satbhai, S Bahutule, M Patel, S Burkul, R Jadhav, Y Pawar, Y Takawale, K Aphale.

Fall of wickets: 1-9.

Bowling: Harvinder Singh 10-1-23-0 (7nb), J P Yadav 9-3-11-1 (2nb), Bangar 10-3-17-0, Parida 2-1-3-0, M S Yadav 1-1-0-0.

Railways: S Bangar, A Pagnis, V Saxena, J P Yadav, Raja Ali, YKT Goud, S Khanolkar, S Wankhede, Harvinder Singh, K Parida, M Yadav.