NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Bengal in dire straits

Bengal in dire straits

January 03, 2007 19:19 IST

Bengal were 172 for 7 in reply to Hyderabad's first innings of 309 at close on the second day of the Ranji Trophy match, in Hyderabad on Wednesday.

Hyderabad, resuming at 258 for six, folded up on 309, as Ranadeb Bose ripped through the tail claiming three wickets.

Overnight batsman Arjun Yadav, after adding six runs to his previous day's score of 79, was dismissed by Saurav Sarkar, playing his second match, early in the day.

Speedster P K Reddy hit a breezy, unbeaten 32 off 56 balls, inclusive of four fours, to see the team attain the 300-mark.

Bengal's innings started on a shaky note with youngsters Pragnyan Ojha and Absolem dismissing the first three batsmen for just 44 runs.

Rohan Gavaskar and Manoj Tiwary stabilised the innings, adding 44 runs for the fourth wicket, but Tiwary fell to a slower delivery for 31 that came from 47 balls and five hits to the fence.

Gavaskar and skipper Deep Dasgupta tried to make amends but the former nicked a rising delivery off Absolem into the hands of wicketkeeper Ibrahim Khaleel after a well-made 66, which included ten hits to the fence.

A Dinda, on 26, and S Sarkar (1) were at crease at stumps.

Bengal are 137 runs in arrears with three wickets in hand.

Speedster P K Reddy, spinners Absolem and P Ojha claimed two wickets apiece for Hyderabad.


Hyderabad (1st innings): (overnight 258 for 6)
D B Ravi Teja c Lahiri b Dinda 57
T S Suman c Shukla b Lahiri 44
P Shashank Nag lbw b Dinda 1
Anirudh Singh B Dinda 18
A S Yadav lbw b Sarkar 85
D Vinay Kumar run out 23
Khaleel lbw b Dinda 12
M P Arjun c Dasgupta b Bose 12
A Absolem b Bose 0
P K reddy (not out) 32
P Ojha c Dasgupta b Bose 2
Extras: (b-11, lb-7, nb-5) 23
Total: (all out in 109.5 overs) 309

Fall of wickets: 1-81, 2-103, 3-105, 4-158, 5-201, 6-229, 7-259, 8-261, 9-290, 10-290.

Bowling: R R Bose 24.5-7-44-3, S S Sarkar 17-4-68-1, A Dinda 35-10-78-4, S S Lahiri 24-5-85-1, M Tiwary 5-2-3-0, L R Shukla 3-1-8-0, R S Gavaskar 1-0-5-0.

Bengal (1st innings):
Arindam Das lbw b P Ojha 5
A P Chakraborty lbw b A Absolem 10
A A Jhunjhuwala lbw b A Absolem 16
R S Gavsakar c Khaleel b Ojha 66
M Tiwary lbw b Arjun 31
D Dasgutpa lbw b Reddy 1
L R Shukla c Ravi Teja b Reddy 0
A Dinda (not out) 26
S S Sarkar (not out) 1
Extras: (b-7, lb-6, w-3) 16
Total: (for 7 wickets in 68 overs) 172

Fall of wickets: 1-16, 2-26, 3-44, 4-88, 5-100, 6-104, 7-164.

Bowling: P K Reddy 15-0-57-2, M P Arun 13-4-26-1, A Absolem 15-6-37-2, P Ojha 23-11-38-2, A S Yadav 2-1-1-0.