NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Haryana score dramatic win

Haryana score dramatic win

November 26, 2005 21:11 IST

Medium pacers Joginder Sharma and Sachin Rana turned tables on Uttar Pradesh to lead Haryana to a dramatic 40-run victory in the Elite 'B' Group Ranji Trophy match at the Green Park in Kanpur on Saturday.

Chasing a modest 145 for victory, the Uttar Pradesh batsmen were sent packing for just 104 by Joginder and Rana, who took five wickets each.

Haryana gained four points from this win.

Uttar Pradesh started on a disastrous note and were soon reduced to 46 for 5, Joginder causing the bulk of the damage.

Rohit Prakash, Arish Alam and Praveen Kumar fell to his immaculate line and length.

Captain Jyoti Yadav and veteran Gyanendra Pandey stemmed the rot, adding 30 for the sixth wicket. But after their stand was broken, there was not much resistance from the lower order and the innings folded 36 minutes after tea.

Yadav returned unbeaten on 34.

Earlier, the last Haryana pair of Pradeep Sahu and Jitendra Malik defied the bowlers for a considerable time, adding 42 runs to their overnight total of 135 for nine.

Praveen Kumar and A W Zaidi claimed four wickets each.


Haryana (1st innings): 277

Uttar Pradesh (1st innings): 310

Haryana (2nd innings): (overnight score 135 for 9)
Chetan Sharma lbw b Zaidi 0
Bageshwar Bisht b Praveen Kumar 10
Sunny Singh b Zaidi 0
Siddarth Varma c Rizwan b Zaidi 0
Shafiq Khan lbw b Zaidi 22
Joginder Sharma c Shikant b Yadav 28
Mahesh Rawat lbw b Praveen Kumar 20
Sachin Rana st Md Amir Khan b Gupta 29
Pradeep Sahu lbw b Praveen Kumar 32
Gaurav Vashisht b Praveen Kumar 2
Jitendra Malik not out 15
Extras: (b-6, lb- 9, nb-4 ) 19
Total: (all out in 69.4 overs) 177

Fall of wickets: 1-0, 2-4, 3-4, 4-41, 5-41, 6-64, 7-11, 8-122, 9-127 10-177.

Bowling: A W Zaidi 21-6-61-4, Shalabh Srivastava 6-1-18-0, Praveen Kumar 15.4 -4-55-4, Praveen Gupta 18-9-14-1, Jyoti Yadav 9-3-14-1.

Uttar Pradesh (2nd innings):
Rohit Prakash c Mahesh Rawat b Joginder 9
Shivakant Shukla c Mahesh Rawat b Sachin 9
Arish Alam c Gaurav b Joginder 13
Praveen Kumar st Mahesh Rawat b Joginder 1
Jyoti Yadav not out 34
Rizwan Shamshad c Sunny Singh b Sachin 10
Gyananendra Pandey c S Varma b Sachin 8
Mohd Amir Khan c Jogindar b Sachin 5
Praveen Gupta b Joginder 0
A W Zaidi c Chetan b Sachin 5
Shalabh Srivastava lbw b Joginder Sharma 1
Extras: (b-3,lb-5, nb-1) 9
Total: (all out in 45.2 overs) 104

Fall of wickets: 1-16, 2-18, 3-22, 4-33, 5-46, 6-76, 7-91, 8-92, 9-103, 10-104.

Bowling: Joginder Sharma 18.2-4-47-5, Sachin Rana 19-3-34-5, Gaurav Vashisht 8-2-15-0.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.