NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Chopra, Dhawan give Delhi upper hand

Chopra, Dhawan give Delhi upper hand

November 17, 2007 21:27 IST

A 199-run opening partnership between Aakash Chopra and Shikhar Dhawan tilted the balance decisively in Delhi's favour and the hosts held all the aces against Saurashtra in the four-day Ranji Trophy Super League tie at the Roshanara Club ground.

Capitalising on a moderate first innings lead of 31, Chopra (124 batting, 16x4s) and Dhawan (114, 17x4s, 2x6s) took Delhi to a commanding 295 for two at the end of the third day.

The opening pair quashed whatever hopes Saurashtra had of getting back into the match after being bowled out for 213 in reply to Delhi's effort of 244 on the opening day.

Resuming at 175 for seven, the last three Saurashtra wickets added 38 runs before the curtain came down on their effort.

Sitanshu Kotak was the only saving grace with his patient 77, which included 10 hits to the fence.

Pacemen Ishant Sharma and Rajat Bhatia were the wreckers-in-chief taking four wickets each, the latter conceding only 16 runs in his 17 overs.

Chopra and Dhawan did not get the desired start after being put in on day one, but put the record straight in the second innings.

It was long time before the visitors tasted success when Dhawan was stumped by wicketkeeper Sagar Jogiyani off the bowling of Rakesh Dhurv.

Though Mayank Tehlan went cheaply, Chopra had already added 76 for the unbroken third wicket stand with Virat Kohli (40 in 45 balls, 5x4s).


Delhi: First inninings 244
Saurashtra: First innings (overnight 175 for seven)
K Vaghela b Sharma 3
S Jogiyani c Chopra b Sharma 25
S Kotak c Dhawan b Bhatia 77
C Pujara lbw b Bhatia 11
J Shah c Bisht b Bhatia 0
P Mehta c Bisht b Bhandari 27
R Jadeja c Bisht b Sangwan 1
R Dhurv lbw b Bhatia 21
K Makvana c Dhawan b Sharma 13
S Jobanputra b Sharma 7
S Maniar not out 2
Extras (b-11, lb-6, w-2, nb-7) 26
Total (all out in 92.1 overs) 213

Fall of wickets: 1-4, 2-61, 3-83, 4-83, 5-156, 6-156, 7-175, 8-195, 9-204, 10-213

Bowling: P Sangwan 24-5-69-1, I Sharma 28.1-6-72-4, A Bhandari 14-7-22-1, R Bhatia 17-8-16-4, C Nanda 8-1-16-0, M Manhas 1-0-1-0.

Delhi 2nd innings
A Chopra batting 124
S Dhawan st Jogiyani b Dhurv 114
M Tehlan lbw b Jobanputra 9
V Kohli batting 40
Extras (lb-6, w-1, nb-1) 8
Total (for 2 wickets in 69 overs) 295

Fall of wickets: 1-199, 2-219

Bowling: S Jobanputra 15-1-77-1, S Maniar 12-0-64-0, K Vaghela 12-2-42-0, R Jadeja 15-2-51-0, K Makvana 13-3-40-0, R Dhurv 2-0-15-1.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.