NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Delhi have Andhra reeling

Delhi have Andhra reeling

January 03, 2007 20:06 IST

Delhi took command on the second day of their Ranji Trophy match against Andhra in Vijayawada on Wednesday, reducing the hosts to 92 for 4 after scoring 355 in their first innings.

Resuming at the overnight score of 247 for 5, Delhi added 108 runs, with overnight batsman Manyak Tehlan (109) completing his century before being dismissed off Mohd Faiq.

Delhi were all out for 355. The other overnight batsman, Aditya Jain, scripted a refined 72 off 171 balls, inclusive of six hits to the fence.

Faiq finished with a five-wicket haul.

Delhi's bowlers unsettled the Andhra batsmen and claimed wickets in quick succession.

Opener L N Prasad Reddy, with a defiant knock of 35, and elegant batsman RVCh Prasad (29) were at the crease when stumps were drawn at the Indira Gandhi Municipal Stadium.

Hosts were 263 runs behind with five first inning wickets in hand.

For Delhi, Ishant Sharma claimed two wickets while Amit Bhandari and Rajat Bhatia took a wicket apiece.


Delhi (1st innings): (overnight 247 for 5 wkts)
Aakash Chopra c Y Manoj Sai b Md.Faiq 15
Shikhar Dhawan lbw Lakshman Kishore 16
Manyak Tehlan c Y Manoj Sai b Md Faiq 109
Mitthun Manhas c B Sumant b Md.Faiq 42
Virat Kohli c M S K Prasad b Kalyan Krishna 33
Rajit Bhatia b Kalyan Krishna 24
Aditya Jain c Varma b Kishore 72
P Bisht b Md Faiq 24
Suhail Sharma c sub (Arjun Kumar)b Md Faiq 0
A Bhandari st M S K Prasad b Kishore 11
Sharma (not out) 0
Extras: (lb-5, w-1, nb-3) 9
Total: (all out in 130.1 overs) 355

Fall of wickets: 1-34, 2-34, 3-101, 4-174, 5-204, 6-285, 7-329, 8-329, 9-350, 10-355.

Bowling: K S Shahabuddin 16-3-60-0,, D Kalyan Krishna 18-5-36-2, P Vijay Kumar 11-2-37-0, Md Faiq 44-6-115-5, Y Lakshman Kishore 25.1-5-62-3, Y Venugopala Rao 8-0-17-0, R V Ch Prasad 8-1-23-0.

Andhra (1st innings):
V Manoj Sai b Ishant Sharma 4
L N Prasad Reddy (batting) 35
A S K Varma c & b Rajat Bhatia 0
Y Venugopal Rao lbw Ishant Sharma 4
M S K Prasad lbw Amit Bhandari 5
R V Ch Prasad (batting) 29
Extras: (b-3, lb-2, nb-8, w-2) 15
Total: (for 4 wickets in 47 overs) 92

Fall of wickets: 1-16, 2-20, 30-38, 4-45

Bowling: Amit Bhandari 9-5-25-1, Ishant Sharma 12-6-25-2, Rajat Bhatia 6-5-1-1, SuhailSharma 13-6-19-0, Aditya Jain 3-1-9-0, Aakash Chopra 2-0-6-0, Mithun Manhas 2-1-2-0.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.