NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Rowland ton rescues Karnataka

Rowland ton rescues Karnataka

December 26, 2003 20:49 IST

Opener Rowland Barrington hit an unbeaten century to rescue Karnataka against Assam in a Ranji Trophy Elite group B match at Bangalore on Friday.

Barrington remained unbeaten on 111 (236b, 16x4) as the hosts recovered from an early innings slump to end the second day at 211-6 in 79 overs in reply to the visitor's first innings score of 285.

Earlier, resuming at 209-7, Assam's tailenders did a creditable job adding 76 runs, with Dhiraj Goswami and Mrigen Talukdar defying the attack and contributing an unbeaten 31 and 29, respectively.

For Karnataka, Brijesh Patel's son Udit Patel, former Test spinner Sunil Joshi and N C Aiyappa picked up three wickets apiece.

Assam's bowlers started on a high note, dismissing four Karnataka batsmen with only 62 runs on the board but a 122-run stand for the fifth wicket between Rowland and V S Thilak Naidu (44) saved the day for the hosts.

Arien Konwar (3-63) was the pick of the Assam bowlers.


Assam first innings: (overnight 209 for seven)
 Sajjad Hussain b Aiyappa                         11
 Parag Das b Ganesh                                 45
 Kiran Pawar b Aiyappa                              0
 S Vasant Saravanan c Aiyappa b Patel       31
 Zakaria Zuffri lbw b Joshi                          43
 R Satish c V S Thilak Naidu b Patel           37
 Soumik Das lbw b Joshi                             16
 Mrigen Talukdar c Aiyappa b Patel              29
 Gautam Dutta c Sudhindra P Shinde b  Aiyappa 11
 Dhiraj Goswami not out                              31
 Arien Konwar b Joshi                                18

Extras (lb-12, nb-1)                                  13

Total (all out in 88.2 overs)               285

Fall of wickets: 1-29, 2-29, 3-86, 4-92, 5-138, 6-182, 7-193, 8-209, 9-248.

Bowling: Ganesh 25-3-66-1, Aiyappa 23-7-94-3, Binny 4-0-16-0, Joshi 19.2-7-52-3, Patel 17-3-45-3.

Karnataka 1st innings:
 J Arun Kumar lbw b Dutta                       2
 R Barrington not out                             111
 Sudhindra Shinde c Zuffri b Parag Das   16
 Deepak Chougule c S Das b Talukdar     5
 R Vijay Bharadwaj c S Hussain b Konwar 8
 V S Thilak Naidu lbw b Konwar               44
 Stuart Binny c U Medhi (sub) b Konwar      0
 Sunil Joshi batting                                     20

Extras (b-4, w-1)                            5

Total (for 6 wkts, 79 overs)               211

Fall of wickets: 1-02, 2-43, 3-49, 4-62, 5-184, 6-184.

Bowling: Gautam Dutta 11-2-27-1; Dhiraj Goswami 7-3-18-0; Parag K Das 14-7-26-1; Arien Konwar 22-4-63-3; S Vasanth Saravanan 4-1-15-0; Mrigen Talukdar 11-4-33-1; Kiran R Pawar 10-3-25-0.

© Copyright 2016 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.