NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Baroda force a draw

Baroda force a draw

December 20, 2007 20:39 IST

Baroda batted with grit to force a draw after being asked to follow-on in their Ranji Trophy Super League Group B match against Andhra Pradesh in Visakhapatnam on Thursday.

Resuming at 136 for 2, in reply to Andhra's mammoth 469, Baroda were all out for 270 in their first innings.

G Shankara Rao came up with a five-wicket haul and D Kalyankrishna took four wickets to bundle the visitors.

Rakesh Solanki (55) and S A Gaekwad (91) played splendidly after skipper Connor Williams's fine 77 at the top.

However, their effort fell short of saving the follow-on.

Williams (53) and Solanki (52) again put up a determined show with the bat, hitting unbeaten half centuries to dash the home team's chances of victory.

Baroda scored 126 for two in their second innings and thus forced a draw.

Earlier, captain MSK Prasad's unbeaten knock of 121 and 72 by B Sumanth had helped Andhra post 469.

Other batsmen too made valuable contributions to the overall score with LNP Reddy, Y Gnaneswara Rao and AG Pradeep scoring 67, 57 and 30 respectively.

Andhra secured three points for taking first innings. They now have 12 points, while Baroda got one point to take their total to 18.

Andhra next face Bengal in their last group match.

Andhra (1st innings): 469 for 9 decl.
Baroda (1st innings, overnight 136/2):
S Parab c Watekar b Kalyankrishna 0
C Williams c Pradeep b Kalyankrishna 77
A Bilakhia c Suresh b Kalyankrishna 0
R Solanki c Sumanth b Kalyankrishna 55
S Gaekwad c Pradeep b Shankara Rao 91
P Shah c Kalyankrishna b Shankara Rao 30
Y Pathan b Suresh 3
R Pawar c Watekar b Shankara Rao 0
S Vohra b Shankara Rao 0
S Hamid Ali lbw b Shankara Rao 2
S Singh (not out) 0
Extras: (lb 3, w 4, nb 5) 12
Total: (all out in 115.2 overs) 270

Fall of wickets: 1-1, 2-3, 3-142, 4-169, 5-244, 6-251, 7-252, 8-252, 9-269, 10-270

Bowling: D Kalyankrishna 28-8-69-4, G Shankara Rao 19.2-4-50-5, P Vijay Kumar 18-11-31-0, H Watekar 31-7-72-0, M Suresh 9-2-20-1, A Varma 6-1-16-0, Y Gnaneswara Rao 4-1-9-0

Baroda (2nd Innings):
C Williams not out 53
S Parab c Prasad b Kalyankrishna 3
A Bilakhia lbw b Suresh 12
R Solanki not out 52
Extras: (b 1, lb 4, nb 1) 6
Total: (2 wickets in 43 overs) 126

Fall of wickets: 1-7, 2-30

Bowling: D Kalyankrishna 5-2-6-1, P Vijay Kumar 11-3-22-0, M Suresh 11-1-33-1, LNP Reddy 1-0-1-0, B Sumanth 3-0-14-0, A Pradeep 2-1-6-0, G Shankara Rao 4-1-16-0, A Varma 4-1-9-0, M Prasad 2-0-14-0

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.