NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Pakistan trounce Zimbabwe in third ODI

Pakistan trounce Zimbabwe in third ODI

September 14, 2011 23:42 IST

Pakistan beat Zimbabwe by 28 runs in the third and final one-day international at Harare Sports Club, on Wednesday, to sweep the series 3-0.

Chasing 270 for victory, Zimbabwe failed to capitalise on a good start by openers Vusi Sibanda (59) and Chamu Chibhabha (62), who put on 110 runs, and ended up with 242 for 9 in their 50 overs. 

Pacer Aizaz Cheema claimed a career-best 4 for 43, Brendan Taylor (6), Malcolm Waller (19), Elton Chigumbura (9) and Ray Price (10) being his victims.

Spinner Yasir Shah also played a leading hand in the victory, claiming two wickets.

Earlier, Younis Khan and Asad Shafiq scored half-centuries as Pakistan amassed 270-5.

The pair unsettled the Zimbabwean bowlers in a 97-run stand for the third wicket.

Younis scored 81 off 90 balls, smashing six boundaries and a six, before hitting straight back to Kyle Jarvis, who took a low catch in the 41st over.

Shafiq stroked three fours and a six before falling for 51 off 72 balls. He was stumped by wicketkeeper Tatenda Taibu, failing to read a flighted delivery from Ray Price.

Elton Chigumbura returned figures of 2-36, his victims being opener Imran Farhat (37) and Shoaib Malik (14).


Mohammad Hafeez c Waller b Vitori 23
Imran Farhat c Chibhabha b Chigumbura 37
Asad Shafiq st Taibu b Price 51
Younis Khan c & b Jarvis 81
Shoaib Malik c & b Chigumbura 14
Misbah-ul-Haq not out 29
Adnan Akmal not out 24
Extras: (LB-2, W-6, NB-3) 11
Total: (for five wickets, in 50 overs) 270

Fall of wickets: 1-45, 2-76, 3-173, 4-211, 5-215

Bowling: Vitori 9-1-62-1, Jarvis 10-0-55-1, Chigumbura 9-1-36-2, Price 10-1-48-1, Utseya 10-0-57-0, Masakadza 2-0-10-0.

J Chibhabha c Y. Khan b Malik 62
V Sibanda c sub U Akmal b Y. Shah 59
B Taylor c A. Akmal b Cheema 6
H Masakadza c Ul Haq b S. Khan 21
T Taibu c Y. Khan b Y. Shah 27
M Waller b Cheema 19
E Chigumbura c Asad b Cheema 9
P Utseya not out 15
R Price b Cheema 10
K Jarvis b Hafeez 6
B Vitori not out 3
Extras: (5w) 5
Total: (for 9 wkts) 242

Fall of wickets: 1-110 (Sibanda), 2-120 (Taylor), 3-133 Chibhabha), 4-176 (Taibu), 5-179 (Masakadza), 6-196 (Chigumbura), 7-208 (Waller), 8-225 (Price), 9-238 (Jarvis).

Bowling: Tanveer 9-0-54-0; S. Khan 9-0-36-1; M. Hafeez 9-0-37-1; A. Cheema 10-1-43-4; Y. Shah 10-0-51-2; S, Malik 3-0-21-1.

Result: Pakistan won by 28 runs

Pakistan won the three-match series 3-0

Man of the match: Aizaz Cheema

Man of the series: Younis Khan