NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Pak trounce Windies in first ODI

Pak trounce Windies in first ODI

April 24, 2011 08:51 IST

Misbah-ul-Haq struck an unbeaten 73 to lead Pakistan to a crushing eight-wicket victory over a new-look West Indies side in the opening one-day international on Saturday.

In pursuit of a mediocre target of 222 at Beausejour Stadium, Pakistan cruised home with 51 balls to spare as Misbah and Asad Shafiq (61) shared in an unbroken third-wicket stand of 134.

Misbah struck five fours and one six in 90 balls while Asad hit seven boundaries to help Pakistan take early honours in the five-match series.

Openers Mohammad Hafeez, with a brisk 54, and Ahmed Shehzad (22) put on 68 for the first wicket to give the visitors a flying start en route to a total of 222 for two in 41.3 overs.

The West Indies attack was put to the sword and only all-rounder Dwayne Bravo, with figures of 0-36 from eight overs, escaped heavy punishment.

Batting first after winning the toss, the home team were restricted to 221 for six in their allotted 50 overs as Pakistan's three spinners applied the shackles.

Saeed Ajmal took 1-24 in his 10 overs, fellow off-spinner Hafeez returned figures of 1-36 and wrist-spinner Shahid Afridi weighed in with 0-40 to keep the hosts under pressure.

Left-hander Darren Bravo top-scored with 67 and West Indies captain Darren Sammy provided much-needed late sizzle with a whirlwind 29 not out off 17 balls featuring three fours and two sixes.

Sammy combined with Carlton Baugh, 10 not out, in an unbroken partnership of 44 for the seventh wicket but the 221 total was never going to be enough to contain an experienced Pakistan lineup.

West Indies, who beat Pakistan by seven runs in their Twenty20 international on Thursday, have picked a youthful team for the ODI series after dropping seasoned batsmen Chris Gayle, Ramnaresh Sarwan and Shivnarine Chanderpaul.

The second ODI will be played at the same venue on Monday.


West Indies:
L. Simmons c Mohammad Salman b Saeed Ajmal 24
D. Smith lbw b Mohammad Hafeez 17
D.M.Bravo run out 67
M. Samuels run out 2
K. Edwards c Junaid Khan b Wahab Riaz 28
D.J.Bravo c Shahid Afridi b Wahab Riaz 14
D. Sammy not out 29
C. Baugh not out 10.
Extras: (lb 10, w 17, nb 3) 30.
Total: (for six wickets; 50 overs) 221

Did not bat: D. Bishoo, A. Russell, K. Roach

Fall of wickets: 1-30, 2-67, 3-77, 4-136, 5-174, 6-177.

Bowling: Wahab Riaz 10-0-62-2 (3nb, 11w), Junaid Khan 10-0-49-0 (6w), Mohammad Hafeez 10-2-36-1, Saeed Ajmal 10-2-24-1, Shahid Afridi 10-1-40-0

Mohammad Hafeez c Sammy b Bishoo 54
Ahmed Shehzad st Baugh b Bishoo 22
Asad Shafiq not out 61
Misbah-ul-Haq not out 73
Extras: (w 11, nb 1) 12.
Total: (for two wickets; 41.3 overs) 222

Did not bat: Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Mohammad Salman†, Hammad Azam, Junaid Khan, Wahab Riaz, Saeed Ajmal

Fall of wickets: 1-68, 2-88

Bowling: K. Roach 9.3-0-58-0 (2w), D. Sammy 7-1-32-0, A. Russell 5-1-36-0 (1nb, 3w), D.J. Bravo 8-1-36-0 (4w), D. Bishoo 10-0-48-2, D. Smith 2-0-12-0 (1w).

© Copyright 2018 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.