NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Mushtaq Ali T20: Unmukt ton helps Delhi win

Mushtaq Ali T20: Unmukt ton helps Delhi win

Last updated on: March 27, 2013 20:54 IST

Riding on young Unmukt Chand's second consecutive hundred, Delhi thrashed Gujarat by 112 runs in a Super League (Group A) match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament in Indore on Wednesday.

The 19-year-old opener smashed his way to 63-ball 125, laced with 10 sixes and as many fours, to take Delhi to a mammoth 198 for four.

Unmukt ChandChasing a stiff target, Gujarat batsmen crumbled under pressure and were dismissed for 86 in 17.3 overs.

Pacer Sumit Narwal was the pick of the bowlers with three for 15 while left-arm spinner Manan Sharma also chipped in with two wickets for 16 runs.

Such was the poor state of Gujarat's batting performance that seven of their batsmen failed to even reach the double figures.

Jesal Karia (24) was the top-scorer for Gujarat followed by spinner Rakesh Dhruv (15).

Earlier, put in to bat, Delhi openers -- Unmukt and Dhruv Shorey (25) made life miserable for the listless Gujarat bowling attack at the EmeraldHeights ground. The duo put on 61-run partnership for the opening wicket.

Unmukt then went on to add 110 runs in just 66 balls for the third-wicket partnership with Milind Kumar (23).

Unmukt pummelled Gujarat's bowling attack with his vast repertoire of stroke-play to put his team in a commanding position.

After his departure, all-rounder Sumit Narwal (15) hit two sixes in four balls he faced to take his side closer to 200-run mark.

For Gujarat, Akshar Patel finished with figures of one for 22 in his four overs while Rohit Dahiya and Mehul accounted for a wicket apiece.

With two consecutive hundreds against Kerala and Gujarat, the former India U-19 World Cup-winning captain has staked his claim for a berth in Delhi Daredevils' playing XI in the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL).

Saha leads Bengal to win over UP

Wriddhiman Saha slammed an unbeaten 35-ball 64 as Bengal defeated Uttar Pradesh by 14 runs for their second successive win in the Super League (Group B) match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament in Indore on Wednesday.

After scoring 176 for two in their stipulated 20 overs, Bengal restricted Uttar Pradesh to 162 for nine to emerge winner by 14 runs.

Praveen Kumar's valiant 31-ball 49-run effort was in vain as Bengal kept their cool to add four more points to their tally.

Praveen smashed four boundaries and two sixes, but it was Saha, who had the last laugh.

Saha hit seven fours and two sixes during his blazing knock, before Sayan Mondal, Sanjib Sanyal and Arnab Nandi bagged two wickets each to complete the task for Bengal.

Bengal had beaten Baroda on day one of the super league phase on Tuesday.

Saha was ably supported by the top-order batsmen in setting a competitive target.

Brief Scores: Bengal 172 for two in 20 overs (Wriddhiman Saha 64, Subhomoy Das 38) beat Uttar Pradesh 162 for nine in 20 overs (Praveen Kumar 49, Eklavya Dwivedi 34) by 14 runs.

Umesh Yadav shines in Vidarbha victory

A five wicket haul by India pacer Umesh Yadav helped Vidarbha beat Odisha by 73 runs in a Super League (Group A) match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament in Indore on Wednesday.

Playing his second match after recovering from a back injury, Umesh Yadav (5/18 in three overs) halted the Odisha run chase after a blistering half century from teammate Ravi Jangid (63) took Vidarbha to a commanding 180 for eight in 20 overs.

Odisha were bowled out for 107 in 14.3 overs.

Electing to bat, Vidarbha got off to poor start and lost

In another match, an impressive bowling performance from Amitoze Singh helped Punjab register a comfortable nine-wicket win over Baroda in Group B.

Amitoze's figure of 3/15 helped Punjab restrict Baroda to a modest 126 which they chased down the target by losing just one wicket.

Punjab openers Ravinder Singh (69) and Mandeep Singh (46) made an easy task of the run chase reaching the target with 32 balls to spare.

Photograph: Ian Hitchcock/Getty Images

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.