NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Sri Lanka win Dutch series 2-0

Sri Lanka win Dutch series 2-0

July 07, 2006 19:49 IST

Sri Lanka were restricted to 313 for 8 wickets, but beat the Netherlands by 55 runs in the second one-day international to complete a 2-0 series win in Amsterdam on Thursday.

Sri Lanka were clearly the superior side but could not match Tuesday's record-breaking performance, when they set a one-day international world record.

Thanks to Sanath Jayasuriya's 157, they scored 443 for 9 in a 195-run victory against the hosts. That eclipsed South Africa's previous record of 438 runs.

On Thursday, Jayasuriya was rested, but Sri Lankam after winning the toss and opting to bat, were powered by a fine 72 by top scorer Upul Tharanga.

The Netherlands posted 258, its best score against a Test-playing country.

Dutchmen Pieter Seelaar and Eric Szwarczynski were handed their first ODI debuts at the expense of Ryan ten Doeschate and Mohammad Kashif.

The Netherlands joined the one-day international circuit in 2005. It still doesn't have Test status.


Sri Lanka:

W Tharanga c Smits b Borren 72
C Kapugedera c Seelaar b Reekers 38
K Sangakkara c van Troost b de Leede 28
R Arnold b Reekers 42
T Dilshan c Reekers b van Troost 66
M Maharoof lbw Stelling 17
K Lokuarachchi not out 25
D Jayawardene c and b Stelling 0
C Bandara b Reekers 11
C Fernando not out 2
Extras: (b4, lb2, w4, nb2) 12
Total: (8 wickets, 50 overs) 313

Fall of wickets: 1-68, 2-134, 3-153, 4-246, 5-266, 6-278, 7-278, 8-299.

Bowling: Stelling 10-0-91-2, Reekers 10-0-54-3, de Leede 10-1-50-1, Borren 10-0-44-1, Seelaar 4-0-26-0, van Troost 6-0-42-1.

The Netherlands:

B Zuiderent lbw Fernando 29
D Reekers b Fernando 45
E Szwarczynski b Fernando 10
D van Bunge b Lokuarachchi 33
T de Leede c Arnold b Lokuarachchi 3
A Kervezee c Lokuarachchi b Bandara 18
L van Troost st Sangakkara b Lokuarachchi 40
P Borren c Fernando b Lokuarachchi 34
W Stelling not out 13
J Smits lbw Maharoof 1
P Seelaar b Maharoof 0
Extras: (b-9, lb-10, w-9, nb-4) 32
Total: (all out, 49 overs) 258

Fall of wickets: 1-66, 2-97, 3-103, 4-122, 5-144, 6-165, 7-223, 8-252, 9-256, 10-258.

Bowling: Perera 8-1-36-0, Maharoof 9-0-39-2, Fernando 9-0-50-3, Bandara 10-1-38-1, Lokuarachchi 10-0-44-4, Dilshan 3-0-32-0.