NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Sangakkara's triple ton puts Sri Lanka in command

Sangakkara's triple ton puts Sri Lanka in command

Last updated on: February 05, 2014 16:56 IST

Kumar SangakkaraKumar Sangakkara struck his maiden triple hundred and became the ninth batsman to score 11,000 Test runs as a dominant Sri Lanka took control of the second and final Test against Bangladesh on Wednesday.

The stylish left-hander (319) was the last Sri Lankan batsman to fall after a marathon 482-ball knock that included 32 boundaries and eight sixes as the tourists amassed 587 before being all out when second day's tea was called.

In reply, Bangladesh were 86 for one wicket at stumps, after losing opener Tamim Iqbal for a duck in the first over of their innings at Chittagong's Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium.

Shamsur Rahman (45) and Imrul Kayes (36) both survived a dropped chance each to remain unbeaten at close, with the hosts still trailing Sri Lanka by 501 runs.

Batting on 286 with number 11 batsman Nuwan Pradeep, Sangakkara hit left-arm spinner Shakib Al Hasan for a four and two sixes off successive deliveries to go past his previous best score of 287 and reach his maiden triple hundred in spectacular fashion.

Sangakkara, 36, is fastest to the 11000 Test-run club, having bettered West Indies batting great Brian Lara's record by five innings.

Kithuruwan Vithanage (35) and Ajantha Mendis (47) provided able support to Sangakkara and added 90 and 100 for the sixth and eighth wickets respectively.

All-rounder Shakib completed his 11th five-wicket haul but Bangladesh would require something of a miracle to win the Test and square the two-match series after losing the first match in Dhaka by an innings and 248 runs.


 Sri Lanka (1st innings): (overnight 314-5)

 D. Karunaratne c Mahmudullah b Al-Amin 31

 K. Silva lbw b Gazi 11

 K. Sangakkara c Gazi b Nasir 319

 M. Jayawardene lbw b Mahmudullah 72

 D. Chandimal c Kayes b Shakib 27

 A. Mathews b Shakib 5

 K. Vithanage lbw b Nasir 35

 D. Perera lbw b Shakib 1

 A. Mendis lbw b Shakib 47

 S. Lakmal lbw b Shakib 0

 N. Pradeep not out 4

 Extras: (b-21, lb-6, w-2, nb-1, pen-5) 35

 Total: (all out; 156.4 overs) 587

 Fall of wickets: 1-39, 2-49, 3-227, 4-294, 5-312, 6-402, 7-405, 8-505, 9-533

 Bowling: Al-Amin 25-5-81-1 (nb-1), Gazi 48-4-181-1, Razzak 4-1-6-0, Shakib 34-3-148-5 (w-1), Mahmudullah 34-2-110-1 (w-1), Nasir 6.4-0-16-2, Shamsur 1-0-5-0, Mominul 4-0-8-0.

 Bangladesh (1st innings):

 Tamim Iqbal b Lakmal 0

 Shamsur Rahman not out 45

 Imrul Kayes not out 36

 Extras: (nb-5) 5

 Total: (one wicket; 25 overs) 86

 To bat: Mominul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Nasir Hossain, Mahmudullah, Sohag Gazi, Al-Amin Hossain, Abdur Razzak

 Fall of wicket: 1-0

 Bowling: Lakmal 5-0-18-1, Pradeep 7-2-29-0 (nb-3), Mendis 4-1-13-0 (nb-2), Perera 7-2-22-0, Mathews 2-0-4-0

 Image: Kumar Sangakkara

 Photograph: Getty Images

© Copyright 2018 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.