NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » IPL franchises to be finalised tomorrow

IPL franchises to be finalised tomorrow

January 23, 2008 19:44 IST

The Board of Control for Cricket in India will on Thursday announce the winning bids for the eight Mumbai-based franchisee teams that will take part in the forthcoming Indian Premier League.

The IPL Council, headed by BCCI vice-president Lalit Modi, will meet in Mumbai on Thursday afternoon before announcing the names of the successful bidders to the media.

The base price for the bids is US $50 million and some of the names doing the rounds are Ambani brothers Mukesh and Anil, Bollywood star Shah Rukh Khan, consumer durable major Videocon, real estate firm DLF and liquor baron Vijay Mallya.

Modi could not be reached to confirm the number of bids or names of bidders received.

Indian stars Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Anil Kumble, V V S Laxman and Sourav Ganguly and retired Australian cricketers Shane Warne and Glenn McGrath are among the 79 players who have been roped in by the IPL to play in the Twenty20 tournament from April 18 at different centres in the country.

The players' bids are to be held next month and a top BCCI source said that even non-contracted (to BCCI) Indian players have been guaranteed a minimum of US $15,000 by the IPL.

Players already roped in by IPL:

India (29): Ajit Agarkar, S Badrinath, Piyush Chawla, M S Dhoni, Rahul Dravid, Gautam Gambhir, Sourav Ganguly, Wasim Jaffer, Mohammad Kaif, Dinesh Karthik, Murali Kartik, Zaheer Khan, Anil Kumble, V V S Laxman, Munaf Patel, Parthiv Patel, Irfan Pathan, Yusuf Pathan, Ramesh Powar, Suresh Raina, Virender Sehwag, Joginder Sharma, Rohit Sharma, Harbhajan

Singh, R P Singh, Yuvraj Singh, S Sreesanth, Sachin Tendulkar and Robin Uthappa.

Australia (16): Shane Warne, Glen McGrath, Justin Langer, Ricky Ponting, Adam Gilchrist, Andrew Symonds, Michael Clarke, Mike Hussey, Brett Lee, Matthew Hayden, Nathan Bracken, Brad Haddin, Mitchell Johnson, Simon Katich, Jason Gillespie and Cameron White.

Pakistan (6): Shoaib Malik, Mohammed Yousuf, Shoaib Akthar, Younis Khan, Mohammed Asif and Shahid Afridi.

Sri Lanka (9): Mahela Jayawardene, Muttiah Muralitharan, Chaminda Vaas, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Zoysa, Sanath Jayasuriya, Kumar Sangakara, Farveez Maharoof and Dilhara Fernando.

South Africa (9): Graeme Smith, Ashwell Prince, Herschelle Gibbs, Albie Morkel, AB de Villiers, Shaun Pollock, Loots Bosman, Jacqes Kallis and Makhaya Ntini.

New Zealand (5): Stephen Fleming, Brendan McCullum, Jacob Oram, Daniel Vettori and Scott Styris.

West Indies (3): Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ramnaresh Sarwan and Chris Gayle.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.