NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Amla included in SA T20 squad

Amla included in SA T20 squad

December 29, 2010 17:07 IST

Hashim Amla was on Wednesday included in the South African squad for the one-off Twenty20 international against India to be played at Moses Mabhida Stadium on January 9 next year.

Amla, who will make only his third appearance in the shortest format of the game, has been named in place of Loots Bosman from the squad that won their last T20 series 2-0 against Pakistan.

While all-rounder Jacques Kallis and pacers Dale Steyn and Morne Morkel have been rested for the match, Makhaya Ntini, who announced his retirement last month, is all set to make his final international appearance for the Proteas.

When Ntini retired from international cricket after playing 101 Tests and 173 One-day Internationals, Cricket South Africa (CSA) had said that he would be given a farewell game.

Hasim Amla"We have decided to rest Jacques Kallis, Dale Steyn and Morne Morkel because of the heavy workload they have had in the Castle Test series and the important roles they will have to play in the MTN ODI series against India as well as in the ICC Cricket World Cup," said the convener of selectors Andrew Hudson.

Interestingly, the Protean T20 squad has regular skipper Graeme Smith but he would not be leading the side during the one-off T20 match. Johan Botha has been named the captain in his place.

The match will be the inaugural match for the Krish Mackerdhuj Trophy and will also commemorate the first arrival of Indians in South Africa 150 years ago.

Squad: Johan Botha (C), Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Colin Ingram, David Miller, Makhaya Ntini, Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson, Graeme Smith, Rusty Theron, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.