NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » ICC refuses to include Ajmal in awards' list

ICC refuses to include Ajmal in awards' list

Last updated on: September 05, 2012 15:45 IST

The ICC dismissed the Pakistan Cricket Board's objection to Saeed Ajmal's omission from the shortlist for Test Cricketer of the Year award, saying it was an independent jury that cast the off-spinner out.

The PCB raised questions on the governing body's selection procedure and urged it to revise the policy.

But the ICC refused to reconsider Ajmal's case.

"The ICC has no authority to change the results of the academy. The voting results are final and binding on everyone," an ICC spokesman told ESPNcricinfo.

The 34-year-old Ajmal, despite finishing as the top Test wicket-taker with 72 wickets in Tests between August 4, 2011, and August 6, 2012, was not included among the four nominees for the coveted Test Cricketer of the Year award.

The Pakistani off-spinner displayed good form but his bowling action has come under scrutiny, with former England captain Bob Willis and other former cricketers questioning its legality.

Explaining the reason for Ajmal's exclusion from the final list of nominees, the ICC spokesperson said, "It is important to understand the process which is very simple and transparent, and monitored by independent auditor Ernst & Young.

"The longlists are prepared by a five-member Selection Panel, which is headed by Mr Clive Lloyd and current year included Clare Connor (England), Tom Moody (Australia), Carl Hooper (West Indies) and Marvan Atapattu (Sri Lanka).

"The shortlists are then created after the individual player awards are voted for by an academy of 32 highly credentialed cricket personalities from around the world. The top four players in each category with most votes are included in the shortlists," the spokesperson added.

In 2010, England off-spinner Graeme Swann was omitted from a longlist for the Cricketer of the Year award prepared by the ICC itself but was included later after the England and Wales Cricket Board pleaded his case.

Ajmal was in the longlist this year, but missed out when an independent 32-member jury nominated Sri Lanka batsman Kumar Sangakkara, South Africa fast bowler Vernon Philander, Australia captain Michael Clarke and South Africa opener Hashim Amla for Test Cricketer of the Year.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.