NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Gujarat's pace-spin combo rattles Hyderabad

Gujarat's pace-spin combo rattles Hyderabad

November 07, 2003 22:22 IST

Gujarat's pace-spin combination of Lalit Patel and Timil Patel rattled Hyderabad as the visitors ended day one of the four-day Elite Group 'A' Ranji Trophy match on 240 for 7 runs at the Sardar Patel stadium in Motera in Ahmedabad on Friday.

Paceman Lalit and young right-arm leg spinner Timil, who took three wickets each, made early inroads into the Hyderabad's batting line-up before middle-order batsman D Vinay Kumar came up with a fine half century (75 not out) to steady the innings.

Electing to bat after skipper Venkatapathy Raju won the toss, Hyderabad were immediately forced on the backfoot as they lost debutant T Suman (4), who was leg before to Lalit, when the score was only 11.

Suman's opening partner Daniel Manohar was the next to go when he was caught by Niraj Patel of Lalit's delivery

One-down batsman Nand Kishore played cautiously but missed his half century by one run as he was caught by Gujarat skipper and wicketkeeper Nilesh Modi off Timil.

Vinay Kumar came up with a fine 210-ball knock, which included seven boundaries, but it failed to stem the rot as as Hyderabad lost wickets at regular intervals.

The 58-run stand for second wicket between opener D Manohar (26) and Nandkishore was the highest for the visitors.

Arjun Yadav, who came in after Nandkishore's dismissal also did not last long, edging a Lalit Patel delivery to the wicketkeeper, with scoreboard reading 166 for four.

Hyderabad then lost three wickets in the span of only 36 runs, with Timil bagging two of them.


Hyderabad (Ist Innings):
D Manohar c Niraj Patel b Lalit Patel 26
T Suman lbw Lalit Patel 4
Nandkishore c Nilesh Modi b Timil Patel 49
D Vinay Kumar batting 75
Arjun Yadav c Nilesh Modi b Lalit Patel 22
Aniruddh Singh run out 3
Ibrahim Khaleel c Luv Pawar b Timil Patel 9
N P Singh c Tejas Varsani b Timil Patel 8
Vishnu Vardhan batting 19

Extras: (b-1, lb-5, w-1, nb-18) 25

Total: (For 7 wickets, 90 overs) 240

Fall of wickets: 1-11, 2-67, 3-121, 4-166, 5-176, 6-200, 7-212

Bowling: Lalit Patel 21-6-58-3, Siddharth Trivedi 19-3-45-0, Hitesh Majmudar 10-0-39-0, Bhavin Mehta 22-5-49-0, Timil Patel 18-6-43-3.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.