NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Central Zone complete easy win

Central Zone complete easy win

October 30, 2005 18:12 IST

Central Zone defeated South Zone by eight wickets on the fourth and final day of the Duleep Trophy League match in Surat on Sunday.

Chasing a target of 49 runs in the second innings, Central Zone scored 52 for the loss of two wickets in 7.2 overs to clinch victory.

South Zone, facing a deficit of 213 runs on the first innings, were bowled out for 261 in 73.2 overs before lunch.

S Sriram remained not out on 136 (13x4) while Lakshmipaty Balaji contributed 32 before being bowled by off-spinner Piyush Chawla.

Chawla took three wickets for 37, while Sanjay Bangar and Kulmani Parida had two each for 51 and 56 runs respectively.

Central Zone got four points in this match.

This was the second successive defeat for South Zone in the competition.

Chawla was declared Man of the Match and Central Zone skipper Sanjay Bangar and Amit Pagnish were declared the best bowler and best batsman respectively.


Central Zone (1st innings): 478

South Zone (1st innings): 265

South Zone (2nd innings):
R Uttappa lbw Sanjay Pande 0
R Barrington lbw Sanjay Bangar 7
S Sriram not out 136
D Kartik c Oza b Bangar 11
H Badani c Pande b Abbas Ali 22
A Yadav b Chawla 17
S Nair b K Parida 3
K Shahbuddin st N Oza b Parida 14
Ram Kumar c N Oza b Harvinder Singh 2
L Balaji b P Chawla 32
Vinay Kumar c S Bangar b P Chawla 5
Extras: (lb3, nb8, w1) 12
Total: (in 73.2 overs, 324 )minutesĀ  261

Fall of wickets: 1-1, 2-33, 3-59, 4-107, 5-153, 6-176, 7-201, 8-204, 9-255, 10-261.

Bowling: Sanjay Pande 13-0-51-1, Harvinder Singh 11-2-36-1, Piyush Chawla 11.2-2-37-3, S Bangar 14-2-51-2, K Parida 18-2-56-2, Abbas Ali 06-1-27-1.

Central Zone (2nd innings):
A Pagnish c P Oza (sub) b K shahbuddin 31
S Bangar c Vinay Kumar b Ram Kumar 6
D Bundela not out 1
Abbas Ali not out 14
Extras: 0
Total: (for two in 7.2 overs, 35 minutes) 52

Bowling: Vinaykumar 2-0-16-0, K Shahbuddin 3-0-23-1, Ram Kumar 2-0-9-1, Sri Ram 0.2-0-4-0.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.