NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Duleep semis: Bhuvaneshwar ton leads Central's fightback

Duleep semis: Bhuvaneshwar ton leads Central's fightback

October 16, 2012 18:17 IST

Uttar Pradesh all-rounder Bhuvaneshwar Kumar's gutsy century helped him script an unbelievable comeback for his side Central Zone as they are 10 runs shy of taking an all-important lead against North Zone in the Duleep Trophy semi-final in Hyderabad.

After North scored a commendable 451, the Central Zone riding on Bhuvenshwar's unbeaten 120 (12x4, 3x6) are tantalisingly close at 442 for nine. In fact, the 10th wicket partnership between Bhuvenhwar and Rituraj Singh who is batting on 21 yielded an astonioshing 100 runs.

The fact that these runs came in less than 22 overs is also laudable.

While this match will always be remembered for Yuvraj Singh's double hundred, Bhuveneshwar's innings is no mean achievement considering he batted with the tail for the better part of his innings. A win will certainly make his maiden first class ton even more memorable.

Starting the day at 146/5, skipper Mohammed Kaif who contributed 64 and glovesman Mahesh Rawat (71) took the score to 219 before former India player was dismissed.

Rawat was dismissed at the score of 251 while Praveen Kumar hit three sixes in his quickfire 27 before Amit Mishra dismissed him.

At 293 for eight, Murali Kartik (22) joined Bhuvneshwar as the pair added 49 runs for the ninth wicket to take the score to 342 before the former gave a catch to Yuvraj Singh at first slip to become Mishra's fourth victim.

With 110 runs still to get and a wicket in hand, it looked like a mere formality for North Zone to get a sizeable first innings lead but Bhuvneshwar and Rituraj defied all odds as they negotiated both pace and spin with aplomb.

While Mishra bowled 39 overs for his four wickets, the fact that he had given away 151 runs will certainly pinch him.

Another leggie Rahul Sharma was also rendered ineffective as he gave away 75 runs in his 26 wicketless over.

North Zone (1st innings) 451
Central Zone (1st innings):
T Srivastava run out (R Dhawan) 23
V Saxena c Yuvraj Singh b Mishra 33
M Kaif b Mishra 63
R Bist lbw b Awana 4
A Menaria c S Dhawan b Awana 4
Jalaj Saxena lbw b R Dhawan 15
M Rawat c sub b R Dhawan 71
B Kumar not out 120
P Kumar c Dewan b Mishra 27
M Kartik c Yuvraj Singh b Mishra 22
RR Singh not out 21
Extras: (b-9, lb-4, w-1, nb-25) 39
Total (9 wickets; 145 overs) 442

Fall of wickets: 1-64, 2-71, 3-80, 4-84, 5-117, 6-219, 7-251, 8-293, 9-342.

Bowling: I Sharma 23-5-46-0, P Awana 23-2-81-2, R Dhawan 30-8-66-2, R Sharma 26-4-75-0, A Mishra 39-7-151-4, Yuvraj Singh 4-1-10-0.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.