NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Clarke century helps Australia to easy win in Dhaka

Clarke century helps Australia to easy win in Dhaka

Last updated on: April 10, 2011 00:02 IST

Michael Clarke got his captaincy off to a terrific start, smashing a century and leading Australia to a 60-run win over Bangladesh in the first One-day International in Dhaka on Saturday.

Clarke made 101 off 111 balls as Australia recovered from 90 for three to post a challenging 270 for seven before their bowlers restricted Bangladesh to 210 for five in their 50 overs.

The home side started wobbling when they lost their first two wickets for nine runs and could never pose any serious threat to Australia despite opener Tamim Iqbal (62) and captain Shakib Al Hasan (51) each contributing.

Michael ClarkeAll eyes were on Clarke as he began his reign as full-time Australian captain and the 30-year old middle-order batsman put on a fine display.

Clarke had captained Australia in 24 one-dayers in the absence of Ricky Ponting but took over the role properly when Ponting stepped down after their quarter-final exit at the recent World Cup.

He replaced his predecessor Ponting (34) at the crease and completed his century in the final over of the Australia innings with a spectacular six through midwicket off Mashrafee Mortaza.

Mahmudullah, who dropped Clarke on 84, took a catch at long on off the next ball to end his innings and give Mortaza his second wicket.

Ponting, playing his first game as just a batsman again, was run out attempting a third run after he had swept left-arm spinner Suhrawadi Shuvo.

Mortaza claimed 2-65 on his comeback to international cricket after missing out on the World Cup with a knee injury.



S. Watson lbw b Abdur Razzak 37
B. Haddin b Mashrafe Mortaza 10
R. Ponting run out 34
M. Clarke c Mahmudullah b Mashrafe Mortaza 101
C. White c Imrul Kayes b Suhrawadi Shuvo 20
M. Hussey c Mahmudullah b Suhrawadi Shuvo 33
S. Smith b Suhrawadi Shivo 1
M. Johnson not out 26
J. Hastings not out 0
Extras: (lb-3 w-4 nb-1) 8
Total: (for seven wickets; 50 overs) 270

Fall of wickets: 1-16, 2-81, 3-90, 4-138, 5-222, 6-225, 7-264

Bowling: Shafiul Islam 9-1-55-0, Mashrafe Mortaza 9-0-65-2, Abdur Razzak 10-0-54-1, Suhrawadi Shuvo 8-0-44-3, Shakib Al Hasan 10-0-34-0, Mahmudullah 4-0-15-0

Tamim Iqbal c Smith b Doherty 62
Imrul Kayes c Haddin b Lee 4
Shahriar Nafees lbw b Johnson 0
Raqibul Hasan c Watson b Hastings 7
Shakib Al Hasan c Watson b Smith 51
Mushfiqur Rahim not out 44
Mahmudullah not out 28
Extras: (lb-2, w-11, nb-1) 14
Total: (for five wickets; 50 overs) 210

Fall of wickets: 1-8, 2-9, 3-49, 4-116, 5-149

Bowling: Lee 8-0-36-1, Johnson 8-0-23-1, Hastings 8-0-31-1, Watson 8-0-35-0, Doherty 10-1-36-1, White 1-0-6-0, Smith 7-0-41-1.

© Copyright 2016 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.