NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Champions Trophy final squad to be picked on Saturday

Champions Trophy final squad to be picked on Saturday

Last updated on: April 29, 2013 16:34 IST

India's squad for the ICC Champions Trophy, in England and Wales in June, will be picked in Mumbai on, Saturday, May 4.

The five-man selection panel, headed by Sandeep Patil, will prune the list of 30 probables already selected to half its size for the June 6-23 tournament.

MS DhoniThe selectors had dropped senior players Virender Sehwag and Harbhajan Singh when they named the probables on April 6, but have the option to choose players from outside the list, according to an ICC source.

India and South Africa are scheduled to kick-off the tournament on June 6 at the Sophia Gardens at Cariff, Wales, in a Group B match.

India will take on the West Indies at the Kennington Oval in London on June 11 and then conclude the four-team group engagements on June 15 against arch-rivals Pakistan at Edgbaston, Birmingham.

Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and Sri Lanka form Group A.

The top two teams from each group will progress to the semi-finals, scheduled on June 19 and 20 at the Kennington Oval and Sophia Gardens respectively, with the winners advancing to the June 23 final at Edgbaston.

Probables: Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Gautam Gambhir, Unmukt Chand, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, Ajinkya Rahane, A Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, M S Dhoni, Wriddhiman Saha, Dinesh Karthik, R Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Ravindra Jadeja, Jalaj Saxena, Parvez Rasool, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashok Dinda, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Irfan Pathan, Vinay Kumar, Paveen Kumar, I C Pandey and Sidharth Kaul.

Photograph: Chris Hyde/Getty Images

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.