NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Botha returns to Test squad against India, Nitini ignored

Botha returns to Test squad against India, Nitini ignored

January 19, 2010 09:27 IST

Johan BothaOff-spinner Johan Botha made a Test comeback while pacer Makhaya Ntini got the boot as South Africa named its Test and ODI squads for next month's tour of India.

Big hitting opening batsman Loots Bosman was recalled in the One-day team for the three ODIs that follow the two-match Test series, as was seasoned opener Herschelle Gibbs.

Botha returns to the Test side for the first time since the 2008 tour of Bangladesh and Cricket South Africa (CSA) selection convener Mike Procter said the off-spinner's presence would lend good balance to the side in India.

"It is important to have a second specialist spin bowling option for a Test series on the Asian sub-continent," said Procter.

"We feel this squad covers all our tactical options and will give a good account of itself," he said.

Bosman's ODI recall came following his brilliant comeback in the Standard Bank International Pro20 against England when he made 94 and helped Graeme Smith share a world record opening partnership.

Bosman represented South Africa at the 2007 ICC Cricket World Cup but has only returned to full fitness this summer after a succession of injuries.

"We feel that Bosman gives us an explosive hitting option up front and this will be the ideal opportunity for him to show his worth on the sub-continent where next year's World Cup will be played," Procter explained.

"There are several players who are unlucky not to make the ODI squad including Hashim Amla, Ryan McLaren and Charl Langeveldt and I must emphasise that they are all still in the running for the World Cup next year," Procter added.

The Proteas leave for India on January 30 and will play two Tests and three ODIs.

Test squad: Graeme Smith (C), Hashim Amla, Johan Botha, Mark Boucher, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Paul Harris, Jacques Kallis, Ryan McLaren, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Alviro Petersen, Ashwell Prince, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

ODI squad: Graeme Smith (C), Loots Bosman, Johan Botha, Mark Boucher, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Alviro Petersen, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Roelof van der Merwe.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.