NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Indian spin quartet win Nayudu award

Indian spin quartet win Nayudu award

August 16, 2004 21:31 IST

India's famous spin quartet, Bhagwat Chandrasekhar, Bishan Singh Bedi, Srinivas Venkatraghavan and Erapalli Prasanna, have won the country's annual C.K. Nayudu cricket award.

Left-armer Bedi, leg-spinner Chandrasekhar and off-spinners Venkatraghavan and Prasanna were regarded as India's most potent bowling force, often operating together on slow, turning wickets at home in the 1960s and 70s.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced in Kolkata on Monday that the award, named after India's first Test captain and made for lifetime achievement in cricket, will be given to all four bowlers to celebrate its 75th anniversary this year. The award carries a trophy and 200,000 rupees ($4,300) for each of the winners.

Chandrasekhar took 242 wickets in 58 Tests, Bedi grabbed 266 in 67 matches, Prasanna 189 in 49 and Venkatraghavan claimed 156 scalps in 57 games.

© Copyright 2018 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.