NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Australia ring changes for WI Twenty20 clash

Australia ring changes for WI Twenty20 clash

February 08, 2013 12:07 IST

Australia made five changes for next week's one-off Twenty20 international against the West Indies in Brisbane.

Selectors were forced to bring in new players with five T20 team regulars in India preparing for Australia's four-Test series, reports AFP.

Ben Rohrer, Nathan Coulter-Nile and Josh Hazlewood were chosen for the first time, while wicketkeeper Brad Haddin and paceman Clint McKay have previously played for Australia in the T20 format.

David Warner, recovering from an injured thumb, along with Matthew Wade, Mitchell Starc, Glenn Maxwell and Xavier Doherty will be in India at the time of next Wednesday's match at the Gabba.

"Ben Rohrer had an outstanding season in the Big Bash League with the Melbourne Renegades in the middle order and Nathan Coulter-Nile has shown very good form in all three formats throughout the summer," chairman of selectors John Inverarity said.

"Brad Haddin and Clint McKay are experienced campaigners and Josh Hazlewood is one of our very promising young pace bowlers who has recently regained full fitness."

Inverarity said with the Test squad in India the T20 international on February 13 would provide more players with international experience.

Squad: George Bailey (captain), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Ben Cutting, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Brad Haddin, Josh Hazlewood, Ben Laughlin, Clint McKay, Shaun Marsh, Ben Rohrer, Adam Voges.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.