NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Kulasekara sizzles as Sri Lanka thrash Australia at the Gabba

Kulasekara sizzles as Sri Lanka thrash Australia at the Gabba

Last updated on: January 18, 2013 15:05 IST

A stellar performance from Sri Lanka's pace bowlers helped them record a four-wicket win over Australia in the third One-Day International in Brisbane on Friday.

- Scorecard

Right-arm pacer Nuwan Kulasekara claimed a career-best five for 22 as Sri Lanka skittled Australia for just 74.

A brave effort from Australia's bowlers was not enough to make up for a disastrous start their batsman after they elected to bat.

Nuwan KulasekaraKulasekara tormented the right-handers with his in-swinging deliveries while Lasith Malinga (3-14) polished off the tail as Australia collapsed in 26.4 overs with only Mitchell Starc (22 not out) and Xavier Doherty (15) managing double digits.

Number nine Starc took a couple of blows on his helmet but hung on to take Australia past their previous lowest total of 70 that came on two occasions, against England in Birmingham in 1977 and New Zealand at Adelaide in 1986.

Angelo Mathews drew first blood with the seventh delivery when he removed opener David Warner and Australia captain Michael Clarke was soon left to rue his decision to bat first at the Gabba as the batting order came unstuck.

Kulasekara was on a hat-trick after removing David Hussey and George Bailey off successive deliveries but Matthew Wade denied him the personal milestone.

That was hardly solace for the hosts as the 30-year-old bowler returned to peg back Clarke's middle stump and push one through Moises Henriques's gate for his first five-wicket haul.

Malinga removed Mitchell Johnson, Wade and Clint McKay while Shaminda Eranga, replacing Ajantha Mendis, dismissed Doherty to end the Australian innings.

Sri Lanka wobbled early in their chase before reaching 75 for six in 20 overs.

Kushal Perera top-scored for the tourists with an unbeaten 22, while Tillakaratne Dishan also contributed as many runs.

Mitchell Johnson was the most successful Australian bowler, claiming three for 11.

Sydney hosts the fourth one-dayer on Sunday. 

Sri Lanka leads the five-match series 2-1.

Photograph: Robert Cianflone/Getty Images