Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:
Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > Cricket > Pakistan's tour of India 2007 > Report

India elect to field in final Pakistan ODI

November 18, 2007 14:53 IST

- Scorecard

Indian skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni [Images] won the toss and elected to field first in the fifth and final one-dayer against Pakistan on Sunday.

With India holding an unassailable 3-1 lead, both teams made four changes to their teams from the last game, with young Indian all-rounder Praveen Kumar and Pakistan wicketkeeper Sarfraz Ahmed making their debuts.

India left out batsman Sourav Ganguly [Images] and frontline bowlers Zaheer Khan [Images], Rudra Pratap Singh and off spinner Harbhajan Singh [Images].

Young batsman Rohit Sharma, pacer Shanthakumaran Sreesanth [Images] and left-arm spinner Murali Kartik [Images] came in, besides Kumar.

Pakistan rested strike bowler Shoaib Akhtar [Images], all rounder Shahid Afridi [Images], batsman Younis Khan and dropped struggling wicketkeeper Kamran Akmal.

Opening batsman Imran Nazir [Images], Yasir Hameed [Images], all rounder Fawad Alam were included alongside Sarfraz.


India: Mahendra Dhoni (captain), Sachin Tendulkar [Images], Virender Sehwag [Images], Gautam Gambhir [Images], Yuvraj Singh [Images], Rohit Sharma, Robin Uthappa, Irfan Pathan [Images], Praveen Kumar, Shanthakumaran Sreesanth, Murali Kartik.

Pakistan: Shoaib Malik [Images] (captain), Salman Butt [Images], Imran Nazir, Yasir Hameed, Mohammad Yousuf [Images], Misbah-ul Haq, Fawad Alam, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Sohail Tanvir, Rao Iftikhar, Umar Gul.

  • Pakistan's tour of India 2007

  • Advertisement