Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > Cricket > Report

Jayawardene to lead Sri Lanka

August 09, 2007 17:11 IST

Mahela Jayawardene [Images] will lead Sri Lanka [Images] in the inaugural Twenty20 World Cup, in South Africa, next month.

There were no surprises in the 15-man squad, with prolific off-spinner Muttiah Muralitharan confirmed to play after earlier reports suggested that he may be rested from the 12-nation tournament.

Left-handed opener Jehan Mubarak takes over from former captain Marvan Atapattu, who earlier this week was released, as per his request, by Sri Lanka Cricket from his contract with the national team.

Sri Lanka, finalists at the 50-overs-a-side World Cup earlier this year, are drawn with New Zealand [Images] and Kenya in Group C of the preliminary league. The top two teams advance to the Super Eights round.

The tournament, from September 11-24, features the nine nations currently playing Test cricket along with Zimbabwe, Kenya and Scotland.

The squad: Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Sanath Jayasuriya, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara, Tillekeratne Dilshan, Chamara Silva, Chaminda Vaas [Images], Farveez Maharoof, Muttiah Muralitharan, Lasith Malinga [Images], Dilhara Fernando, Hasantha Fernando, Gayan Wijekoon, Kaushal Lokuarachchi, Jehan Mubarak.