Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article
Home > Cricket > Champions Challenge > Report

Australia elect to field

Deepti Patwardhan in Jaipur | October 21, 2006 14:30 IST


Australia captain Ricky Ponting won the toss and elected to field against England in the ICC Champions Trophy match at the Sawai Mansingh stadium in Jaipur on Saturday.

As both the teams lost their opening matches, this contest is crucial for their survival in the tournament.

Australia brought in left-arm pacer Mitchell Johnson in place of Brad Hogg while England retained the eleven that played in the defeat against India.


Australia: Adam Gilchrist, Shane Watson, Ricky Ponting, Damien Martyn, Andrew Symonds, Michael Clarke, Michael Hussey, Brett Lee, Mitchell Johnson, Nathan Bracken, Glenn McGrath, Brad Hogg (12th man).

England: Andrew Strauss, Ian Bell, Andrew Flintoff, Michael Yardy, Kevin Pietersen, Paul Collingwood, James Dalrymple, Chris Read, Sajid Mahmood, Stephen Harmison, James Anderson, Rikki Clarke (12th man).

Umpires: Steve Bucknor and Billy Bowden

Third umpire: Daryl Harper

Fourth umpire: Simon Taufel

Match referee: Jeff Crowe.

Would you like to join the Cricket and Cricket Lovers Discussion Group and discuss your cricket views with other cricket freaks? Click here. Have fun!

Share your comments